|Be a smarter and safer rider this season! The Basic Rider Course, Basic Rider Course 2, and Sidecar/Trike Courses are available to keep you safe and licensed:
Basic Rider Course (BRC)
The Basic Rider Course offers the most complete motorcycle training available. Students must complete 14.5 hours of integrated instruction: 4.5 hours in the classroom and 10 hours of practice on a training motorcycle. This course is divided into two phases: Level 1 concentrates on motorcycle familiarization, clutch control, throttle control, riding posture, and the four basic skills: straight-line riding, turning, shifting, and stopping. Level 2 includes limited-space maneuvers, counter-steering, cornering, and swerving. Minnesota law requires motorcyclists under age 18 to pass an approved Rider Skills Training course. While no previous motorcycle riding experience is required, it can be beneficial. Students must be able to ride a bicycle and must possess a valid driver’s license or motor vehicle instruction permit. Each student must furnish his or her own protective clothing and DOT-approved helmet. 100% attendance is mandatory.
Confident Rider Course
If you are comfortable on your own motorcycle and ready to try something new, the five-hour ERC Skills Plus course will build upon your existing skills and knowledge. Relatively new motorcyclists, returning riders, and experienced motorcyclists can all benefit from this course. Riders should take this course within their first three years, and once every other year after that. The ERC Skills Plus covers control, finesse, judgment, counter steering, cornering, swerving, and braking. The Minnesota Motorcycle Safety Center recommends that you have at least one year or 1,000 miles of riding experience before enrolling in this course. Participants must be at least 16 years old and possess a valid driver’s license with either a motorcycle endorsement or a motorcycle instruction permit. Riders must be proficient with the basic skills of clutch control, straight-line riding, turning, shifting, and stopping. You must use your own street-legal motorcycle and show current proof of insurance. Students must wear protective clothing and a DOT approved helmet.
The Sidecar/Trike courses are designed for riders with three-wheeled vehicles to develop the skills necessary to avoid crashes and ride safely. If you are a new rider with a three-wheeler, or an experienced motorcyclist who recently switched to three wheels, a Sidecar/Trike course is the best way to get started down that road. In these courses, students provide their own sidecar rig or trike and proof of insurance. Your sidecar or trike must pass a safety inspection given at the start of the course. These courses do not meet training requirements for the state skill test waiver or for those under 18 years of age.
Motorized Bicycle (Moped) Safety Course
Please Call 218-733-5924
This 4-hour course includes moped rules and regulations, defensive riding techniques, protective clothing, and alcohol information. Any 15 year old who wants to ride a moped on the street must complete this course to obtain a moped instruction permit. Anyone 16 or older with a valid driver’s license may legally ride a moped on-street. (This is a classroom only course)